Sunday, December 8, 2013

39th Metro Manila Film Festival (New Wave Section) | December 18-24, 2013

The Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) held a press conference recently to support the screening of 39th Metro Manila Film Festivals’ independent, student and animation films comprising the New Wave Section. This will be held in two (2) venues: SM Megamall and Glorietta 4 Cinemas  on December 19-24, 2013.

MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino, currently the MMFF overall chairman, encourages the public to support the 13 entries for the Full Length, Animation and Student Short Films categories. These films will be shown at Glorietta 4 in Makati City and SM Megamall cinemas in Mandaluyong  for only P100.
“We assure you of good entertainment when you watch and see these New Wave films by our young and budding filmmakers who crafted them in different genre such as drama, romantic comedy and action drama,” Tolentino said.

The MMFF’s New Wave section was introduced in 2010 to cater to independent or “indie” producers and aspiring student filmmakers from various colleges and universities in the country.

39th MMFF New Wave Full Feature Omnibus Trailer 2013 


39th MMFF-New Wave Section Entries

Full Length:
1.   Mga Anino ng Kahapon  -  Agot Isidro, TJ Trinidad (Vim Yapan/Aelm Chua Productions)

2.   Island Dreams -  Louise Delos Reyes, Alexis Petitprez (Kenau Pictures Production)

3.   Dukit -   Raquel Villavicencio, Wilfredo Layug, et al (Center Stage Productions)

4.   Maestra – Biboy Ramirez, Perla Bautista  (Pixel Works Ent./Scenema Concept Int’l)

5.   Saka Saka – Ejay Falcon, Joseph Marco (Cine Bro)


1.  OMJ Origin of Mang Jose  -  Koji-Kabuto Enterprise

2.  Kaleh and Mbaki  -  Dennis Sebastian

3.  Ang Lalong ni Kulakog  -  Ateneo De Naga University

4.  Gayuma ni Maria  -  Post-Advance Science and Technology Institute, Flash Animation

5.  Mamang Pulis (Mr. Policeman) -   Hannah Espia

Student Shorts:
1.  #No Filter -   Luigi Lupe Rosario (MAPUA Institute of Technology)

2.  Hintayin Mo Sa Seq. 24 -  Jose Lemuel Silvestre (Far Eastern University)

3.  Gapos -  Rizchel Anne Miguel (Colegio De San Juan De Letran)

From each New Wave category, a Best Picture award will be given to the outstanding film entry with a cash prize of P 300,000, P 100,000 and P 50,000 for the Full Feature, Animation and Student Short Film categories, respectively. There will also be awards for Best Director, Best Actress, and Best Actor in the Full Length category.

+  Follow me on Twitter and join my Facebook Page.  +

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for dropping by! Hope you can follow me:

FB Pages: |

Twitter/IG/Tiktok/Pinterest: @ronivalle