Monday, June 3, 2019

32nd Saint Teresa of Calcutta Award (2019): Call for Nominations

The Saint Teresa of Calcutta Awards (STCA) Committee, together with partners Junior Chamber International Manila (JCI Manila) and the Alfonso Yuchengo Foundation (AY Foundation), is once more in search for a “silent hero,” who have embodied Saint Teresa’s strong humanitarian values and have emulated her examples through their own works and accomplishments. 

The search was formally launched on May 29, 2019 (Wednesday) at the Hexagon Lounge, Level 4 Tower II, RCBC Plaza, 6819 Ayala avenue, Salcedo Village, Makati City, at 3pm.

The award is a recognition dedicated to Saint Teresa of Calcutta, whose remarkable humanitarian efforts have earned her a Nobel Peace Prize in 1979, and, most famous, the title of “The Living Saint” prior to her official canonization in 2016. Established in 1983 as an annual project of JCI Manila and the AY Foundation, Inc., it aims to recognize individuals who, like the award’s namesake, have dedicated a considerable fraction of their time, talents, and selves in service of the underserved, and, in doing so, become an inspiration to others. Specifically, the Committee is in search for people who have humbly, and without seeking gratification or recognition, have selflessly devoted at least 25 years of their lives helping the less fortunate members of Philippine society. Above all, these individuals must be above reproach, of unquestionable integrity and a simple lifestyle much like the late Saint Teresa herself.

Any living individual regardless of background may be nominated for the prestigious Saint Teresa of Calcutta Award based on these qualifications. Nominators may be any individual, institution, or organization who would submit the designated form to the address specified above. 

The STCA Committee shall then carefully review the nominations for a preliminary screening where candidate will be judged based on their merits and qualifications with respect to the award’s requirements. The initial results will be forwarded to the Board of Judges, comprised of illustrious authorities who themselves are committed to Saint Teresa’s causes, who will name this year’s Saint Teresa of Calcutta Award recipient.

Nominations can be submitted from May 29, 2019 until July 31, 2019, and can be submitted as a physical copy to the STCA Committee office at the JCI Manila Clubhouse, Arquiza corner Grey Street, Ermita, Manila, Philippines, or via electronic mail to 

For questions or inquiries, the STCA Committee may be contacted at 525-2631 or 525-6792, and via fax to 525-6814.

Let's Connect:
Youtube  |  Google+  |  Pinterest  |  Instagram

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for dropping by! Hope you can follow me:

FB Pages: |

Twitter/IG/Tiktok/Pinterest: @ronivalle