Thursday, August 27, 2015

CineFilipino 2015: 37 Finalists presented (Feature-Length, Documentary, TV Series, Shorts)

CineFilipino 2015, organized and led by Unitel Productions, in partnership with Mediaquest and PLDT Smart Foundation, promises more moving stories and a more diverse mix of genres with an unexpected significant increase in entries, up to 20% versus the first festival in 2013. 

“We are excited for this year’s turnout. We have made CineFilipino bigger by expanding the categories, increasing the grants, giving good prizes to our top winners and inviting reputable Filipino and foreign judges to select the finalists and winners. Film enthusiasts and the filmmakers can definitely expect more this year,” said Madonna Tarrayo, Festival Director and President of Unitel. 

There are a total of 442 submissions:
Feature-Length category: 151 entries
Documentaries: 51 entries 
TV Series: 34 entries 
Shorts: 206 entries (164 for Short Features, 
15 for Mobile and 26 for the Online Platform)

Documentaries, TV Series, Mobile and Online sub-categories are all new additions to this year’s film festival.    

“CineFilipino was conceived with the filmmakers’ interests at the core. It was created as a venue for them to express their creativity and touch audiences through their content,” she said.

The film festival, now on its second run, aims to tap up-and-coming and established filmmakers to explore topics that delve into the Filipino identity and culture, and define human experiences through a Filipino perspective. The result are thought-provoking, quality films. 

Skillfully demonstrated by the 2013 best pictures, Ang Huling Cha-cha ni Anita and Ang Kuwento ni Mabuti, films that talk about societal and cultural issues can be told in an audience-friendly and distinctly Filipino perspective. The festival seeks to produce films that make Filipinos know more about their identity as a nation and as people.

CineFilipino Film Festival 2015 Presscon

“Films have the power to ignite one’s passion, heal one’s heart and open one’s eyes to the possibilities this world has to offer. This year’s finalists offer stories that aim to do at least one of these things which make for a soul-satisfying experience. Our theme, ‘Stories worth watching. Movies worth celebrating’, fully encompasses what CineFilipino is about and what filmgoers can expect from this new batch,” Tarrayo said.

CineFilipino 2015: Feature-length Finalists
  • 1st Sem by Dexter Hemedez and Allan Ibanez
  • A Lotto Like Love by Carla Baful
  • Ang Taba Ko Kasi by Jason Paul Laxamana
  • Ang Tulay Ng San Sebastian by Alvin Yapan
  • Buhay Habangbuhay by Paolo Herras
  • I'm Drunk, I Love You by JP Habac
  • Ned's Project by Lemuel Lorca
  • Sakaling Hindi Makarating by Ice Idanan
  • Straight To The Heart by Dave Fabros
  • Van Damme Stallone by Randolph Longjas

CineFilipino 2015: Documentary Finalists
  • An Orchestra In Search Of A Home by Ida Anita Del Mundo
  • Forever Bridgeless by Racquel Zaballer-Sanchez
  • Mga Kulay Sa Labas Ng Linya by Daniel Brian Sulicipan
  • Sila Dino At Ang Kanilang Sikreto by Miller Ursolino
  • We Will Never Play In Manila Again by Sigfreid Barros-Sanchez

CineFilipino 2015: TV Series Finalists
  • Agham, Inc. by Maui Bantigue
  • Ang Mga Hugot Ni Ella Feelingera by Ramon Bayron
  • Case Unknown by Pamela Reyes
  • Junakis by Ron Bryant
  • Second Chances (originally entitled 'Midlife!')" by Hannah Espia

CineFilipino 2015: Short Features Finalists
  • Aki by Milo Tolentino
  • Chicboy by Jasper Ramon Tulabot
  • Digpa Ning Alti by Bor Ocampo
  • Katok by John Rhys Guarina
  • Kung Ang Ulan Ay Gawa Sa Tsokolate by Galileo Sioce Te and Prime Cruz
  • Luna by Rae Red
  • Not Applicable by Carl Chavez
  • Oktopus by JP Habac
  • Punla by Kenneth Mandrilla
  • Saanman Ngunit Dito by Cheska Salangsang
  • XXX by Allison Barretto

CineFilipino 2015: Online Content Finalists
  • Dayuhan Sa Perlas by Raynier Brizuela
  • Hila Ko Si Noy by Dexter Paul De Jesus
  • How Fast by Vic Ryan Julius Ong
  • Iba't Ibang Klase Ng Pasahero Ng Jeep by Raymundo Baguilat
  • Swerte by Red Aquino

CineFilipino 2015: Mobile Content Finalist
  • Kahon by Carlos Dala I

CineFilipino Film Festival 2015 
Selection Committees:

Bayani San Diego, Jr.
Melvin Mangada
Mark Meily
Perci Intalan
Jane Basas


Ana Perez
Jane Basas
Wilma Galvante
Melvin Nubla
Monti Parungao


Quark Henares
Joel Ruiz
Mike Alcazaren
Ana Perez
Patrick Paez
Arnold Arre
Roby Alampay


Adolf Alix, Jr.
Luchi Cruz Valdez
Patrick Paez
Paolo Bediones

CineFilipino 2015 is also supported by Meralco and Metro Pacific Tollways Corporation (MPTC). For further information, visit the official website,

Follow me:
Youtube  |  Google+  |  Pinterest  |  Instagram

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for dropping by! Hope you can follow me:

FB Pages: |

Twitter/IG/Tiktok/Pinterest: @ronivalle