Sunday, September 15, 2013

"Ikaw" interpreted by Jonalyn Viray is 2013 ASOP TV Song of the Year

"Ikaw," a crowd favorite song of praise composed by Boy Christopher Ramos Jr., bested 12 finalists to win Song of the Year Award in this year's ASOP TV Music Festival Grand Finals Night held while Jonalyn Viray received the “Best Interpreter Award” for the same song.

Ramos is a professional composer whose awards-worthy “Ito ang Buhay Ko” won in the Best Theme Song category of the 2011 Asian Television Awards. Viray, on the other hand, is 2004 Pinoy Pop Superstar Grand Champion (from the singing competition of GMA-7 network) and the 2006 WCOPA gold medalist.

Song of the Year: IKAW by Jonalyn Viray

Meanwhile, RJ Jimenez's “I Am Grateful” (interpreted by Stonefree's Miro Valera) earned the first-runner up prize while Christian Obar's “Lagi Kang Nariyan” (interpreted by Gerald Santosreceived second-runner up prize, and Paul Hildawa's “You'll See Miracles” (interpreted by Carl Trazowas third-runner up.

The grand finals event was hosted by Richard Reynoso and Toni Rose Gayda.

1st runner-up: "I Am Grateful” by Miro Valera of Stonefree

2nd runner-up: “Lagi Kang Nariyan” by Gerald Santos

3rd runner-up: “You'll See Miracles” by Carl Trazo

The grand prize-winning song comes with P500,000 cash prize. The other runners-up receive P250,000, P150,000, and P100,000 for first, second and third runner up placers, respectively.

Among this year's board of judges include: 
  • CCP President and concert pianist Raul Sunico
  • world-renowned musical stage actor and director Audie Gemora
  • veteran film and television personality Joey De Leon. 
  • former Star Records executive Anabelle Regalado-Borja
  • Universal Records General Manager Kathleen Dy-Go
  • veteran composer and vocalist Snaffu Rigor
  • multi-awarded composer and record producer Dr. Mon Del Rosario
Judging of winners was based on text voting from the public plus the judges' scores.

2nd ASOP Music Festival Song Playlist (2013)
(including the other finalists)

Chairman and CEO of Breakthrough and Milestones Production International, Daniel Razon launched the show two years ago on television. The broadcast journalist related that it was a suggestion from Bro. Eli Soriano to open a praise songwriting contest that is open to amateur and professional Filipino composers.

The Members Church of God International, where Bro. Eli is Presiding Minister, have been holding A Song of Praise (ASOP) Music Festival but this songwriting contest is exclusive only for Church members.

ASOP TV is the only Philippine songwriting competition which focuses on songs of praises to God aired via UNTV-37 every Sunday. Annually, ASOP TV Music Festival showcases 12 songs out of the monthly finals. 

To encourage amateur and professional Filipino composers to join the songwriting contest, ASOP TV gives more than P1-Million in cash prizes.


To download for free all 12 songs of praise entries this year, visit

Follow me:
Youtube  |  Google+  |  Pinterest  |  Instagram

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for dropping by! Hope you can follow me:

FB Pages: |

Twitter/IG/Tiktok/Pinterest: @ronivalle