Thursday, May 2, 2013

18 writing fellows (13 new; 5 alumni) to the 20th Iligan National Writers Workshop | May 20-24, 2013

The MSU-Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT) and the National Commission for Culture and Arts (NCCA) announce the selection of 18 writing fellows out of 65 applicants to the 20th Iligan National Writers Workshop (INWW). The workshop is on May 20-24, 2013 at MSU-IIT.

The Iligan Workshop is one of five national writers workshops in the country but it is the only workshop that publishes its proceedings each year, and promotes the making of the literatures of the regions. 

In celebration of its 20th year, the Iligan workshop invited five alumni for a discussion of their aesthetics or creative process along with their works-in-progress, at the same time they will help mentor beginning writers during the workshop. 

The writing fellows are: 
Play: Dominique Beatrice T. La Victoria (English), Ateneo de Manila University/Quezon City;
Fiction: Laurence F. Roxas (English), UP-Diliman/Pasig City;
Poetry: Ma. Amparo N. Warren (English), UP-Diliman/Pasig City; Louise Vincent B. Amante (Filipino) UPDiliman/Quezon City. 

INWW Alumni from Luzon:
Fiction: Susan Claire Agbayani (Filipino), Maryknoll College/Manila. 

Fiction: Nikos H. Primavera (English), UP Visayas/Iloilo City; 
Poetry: Ma. Carmie Flor I. Ortego (Waray), Leyte Normal University/Calbayog City. Ortego is the 3rd Boy Abunda Writing Fellow. 

INWW Alumni from the Visayas: 
Fiction: Hope Sabanpan Yu (Sebuano), University of San Carlos/Cebu City; Norman T. Darap (Kinaray-a), University of San Agustin/Iloilo City; 
Poetry: Cindy A. Velasquez (Sebuano), University of San Carlos/Cebu City. 

Fiction: Edgar R. Eslit (Sebuano), St. Michael’s College/Iligan City; Rolly Jude M. Ortega (English), Notre Dame of Marbel University/Isulan, Sultan Kudarat; 
Poetry: Amelia Catarata Bojo (Sebuano), Central Mindanao University/Musuan, Bukidnon; Marc Josiah Pranza (English), UP Mindanao/Surigao City; Shem S. Linohon (Higaunon), Central Mindanao University/ Valencia City. He is likewise the 5th Manuel E. Buenafe Writing Fellow; and Vera Mae F. Cabatana (English), MSU-IIT/Iligan City. Cabatana is the 5th Ricardo Jorge S. Caluen Writing Fellow.

INWW Alumni from Mindanao: 
Poetry: Ralph Semino Galan (English), MSU-IIT/Iligan City. 

This year’s panelists include: Leoncio P. Deriada, John Iremil Teodoro, Merlie M. Alunan, Victorio N. Sugbo, Macario D. Tiu, Steven Patrick C. Fernandez, German V. Gervacio, Antonio R. Enriquez, Christine Godinez-Ortega (INWW Director) and the keynote speaker, Jose “Butch” Dalisay, Jr. 

Dalisay, a multi-awarded fictionist and a columnist of the Philippine Star is the Coordinator for the National Capital Region of the NCCA Committee on Literary Arts. At present, he is a Professor of the UP College of Arts & Letters and is the Director of the UP Institute for Creative Writing and Literary Studies. 

Highlights of this year’s Iligan workshop are the book launching of the 19th INWW Proceedings titled, Writing Memory Memory Writing (2013) edited by Godinez-Ortega and published by the OVCRE-MMIDU; the Jimmy Y. Balacuit Memorial Literary Awards; and, the Seminar on Literature, Translation & Pedagogy for tertiary language and literature teachers organized by the Department of English of the College of Arts & Social Sciences (CASS). 

The lecturers are Tiu, Research Director, Philippine Women’s University; Teodoro, faculty of Miriam College; Sabanpan Yu, Director of the University of San Carlos’s Cebuano Studies Center, and Fatimah Joy S. Almarez, faculty, Department of English, CASS. 

For reservations please call Honeylet Dumoran, Department of English, CASS, tel. (063) 2233806. 

+  Follow me on Twitter and join my Facebook Page.  +

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for dropping by! Hope you can follow me:

FB Pages: |

Twitter/IG/Tiktok/Pinterest: @ronivalle