Wednesday, May 11, 2011

2011 Cinemalaya Film Festival features 31 new digital films

Lifted from Cinemalaya website:

Thirty-one (31) new digital films will compete in the 2011 Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival in Manila from July 15 to 24, 2011. Now on its 7th year, Cinemalaya is a project of the Cinemalaya Foundation, Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP), Film Development Council of the Philippines and Econolink Investments, Inc. It is an all-digital film festival that aims to discover, encourage and honor cinematic works of Filipino filmmakers that boldly articulate and freely interpret the Filipino experience with fresh insight and artistic integrity. Cinemalaya’s main competition categories are the New Breed full feature category and the Short Feature category featuring works by new directors.  The Directors Showcase is a competition for works by established directors.

Nine (9) films will compete in the New Breed full length feature category; Ten (10) in the Short feature category and Four (4) in the Directors Showcase.

The nine (9) finalists in the New Breed category are:  
  • Amok (Amok) by Lawrence Fajardo 
  • Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (The Woman in the Septic Tank) by Chris Martinez
  • Ang Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa (The Dance of Two Left Feet) by Alemberg Ang and Alvin Yapan; 
  • Baby Factory by Eduardo W. Roy, Jr. and Jerome Zamora
  • Cuchera by Joseph Israel M. Laban and Janice O'Hara
  • I-libings: Your Loss, Our Luck (E-funerals) by Rommel Andreo Sales
  • Ligo na U, Lapit Na Me by Noel Ferrer, Jerry Gracio and Erick Salud
  • Niño by Loy Arcenas
  • Teoriya (Father’s Way) by Alistaire Christian E. Chan.

The nine (9) finalists of the New Breed Full Length Feature category each received a P500,000 seed grant from the Cinemalaya Foundation as investment for the production. The Best Full Length Feature Film will receive a prize of P200,000 and the Balanghai Trophy.  The New Breed Full Length feature category is open to Filipino filmmakers who have not yet directed more than three full feature films.

The ten (10) finalists in the Short Feature category are: 
  • Oliver’s Apartment by Misha Balangue
  • Hanapbuhay (Source of Living) by Henry Frejas
  • Un Diutay Mundo (One Small World) by Ana Carlyn V. Lim
  • Immanuel by Gabriel “Gio” Puyat
  • Hazard by Mikhail Red
  • Walang Katapusang Kwarto (An Endless Room) by Emerson Reyes
  • Debut by Pamela Llanes Reyes
  • Samarito (Smaritan) by Rafael L. Santos
  • Every Other Time by Gino M. Santos
  • Nino Bonito by Rommel “Milo” Tolentino

The winner of the Short Feature Category will receive a prize of P100,000.00 and the Balanghai trophy.

The four (4) finalists in the Directors Showcase are: 
  • Bisperas (Eve) by Jeffrey Jeturian
  • Busong (Palawan Fate) by Auraeus Solito
  • Isda (Fable of the Fish) by Adolfo Alix Jr.
  • Patikul by Joel C. Lamangan.  

The finalists of the Directors showcase each received a P500,000 seed grant from the Cinemalaya Foundation. The Best Film in the Directors Showcase will receive a prize of P300,000 and the Balanghai Trophy. The Directors Showcase is open to full length feature works by Filipino directors who have directed at least three full-length commercial feature films.

For the first time, this year’s Cinemalaya Festival will include a section called Focus Asia that will feature eight independent works by Asian directors.  Other sections of the Cinemalaya are the NETPAC Philippine Premieres with eight competing films, Ani (a harvest of the best Filipino Indie Films of the past year), Kids Treats (indie films for children) and Midnight Specials (indie films with adult themes). 

Cinemalaya will also organize the Cinemalaya Film Congress and other film related events such as the Sine Taktakan (forum with 2011 Cinemalaya filmmakers), lectures and exhibits.

The Festival will be held in seven venues at the Cultural Center of the Philippines and at the Greenbelt 3 cinemas in Makati City. The opening ceremony is slated on July 15, 6:00 pm followed by the festival opening film at the CCP main theater. The Cinemalaya Awards Night will be held on July 24, 7:00 pm at the same venue.

For more information, please visit or or the CCP facebook page.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for dropping by! Hope you can follow me:

FB Pages: |

Twitter/IG/Tiktok/Pinterest: @ronivalle