Wednesday, September 22, 2010

15 Fellows to the 7th Lamiraw Regional Creative Writing Workshop (Nov. 9-12, 2010)

The Northwest Samar State University (NwSSU) congratulates the 15 fellows who made it to the 7th Lamiraw Regional Creative Writing Workshop (LRCWW) which will be held on November 9-12, 2010 in Calbayog City, Samar.

The Fifteen (15) Fellows are:

1) Erwin Fernandez Urdaneta City/UP Diliman SHORT STORY: Pangasinan
2) Early Sol Gadong Iloilo City/UP Visayas ESSAY: English
3) Seneca Pellano Tagum City/UP Mindanao SHORT STORY: English
4) Ma. Alma Lloren Tacloban City/EVSU POETRY: Waray
5) Gloria Sommer Tacloban City/ADFC POETRY: Waray
6) Imelda Ruiz Tacloban City/UP Diliman SHORT STORY: Waray
7) Osmundo Orlanes Calbiga, Samar/S.H. Seminary POETRY: Waray
8) Liberato Mabubay Jiabong, Samar/Samar College SHORT STORY: Waray
9) Gary Manalo Calbayog City/NwSSU POETRY: Waray
10) Jewel Mercader Calbayog City/NwSSU POETRY: Waray
11) Joel Rey Pagobo Calbayog City/NwSSU POETRY: Sebuano
12) Jenith Salem Calbayog City/CCP PLAY: Waray
13) Jerome Castillo Capul, Northern Samar/UEP POETRY: Inabaknon
14) Milen Esteria Capul, Northern Samar/UEP POETRY: Inabaknon
15) Rhea Sauro Capul, Northern Samar/UEP POETRY: Inabaknon

Fellows will get free board and lodging, and travel allowance. Their works will also get the chance to be selected in the proposed book project of Lamiraw which will feature the best poems written in the last seven (7) years of the workshop.

This year is a special year for Lamiraw because the University will be launching the Chito S. Roño Literary Awards (CSRLA), a major component of the annual Lamiraw workshop. The renowned film director himself, Mr. Chito S. Roño, will be this year’s keynote speaker.

Works written in Waray, Sebuano, Inabaknon, Pangasinan and English are among the manuscripts that will be read in this workshop.

The Eight (8) Panelists are:
Prof. Merlie Alunan and Dr. Leoncio Deriada, professors emeritus of UP Visayas; Dr. Victor Sugbo of UP Tacloban; Dr. David Genotiva of Eastern Visayas State University; Prof. Antonino de Veyra of UP Mindanao; Mr. Voltaire Oyzon of Leyte Normal University; Mr. Dante Rosales of Ibabao Arts Council of Calbayog; and Mr. Harold Mercurio of Northwest Samar State University.

This workshop is sponsored by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for dropping by! Hope you can follow me:

FB Pages: |

Twitter/IG/Tiktok/Pinterest: @ronivalle