Friday, April 3, 2009

LIRA Poetry Clinic 2009: Call for Submission

Last March 5, the nine new members of Linangan sa Imahen, Retorika, at Anyo (LIRA) were formally sworn in. Mariane Abuan, Teofilo Catanyag, Perfecto Edilo, Noel Fortun, Deborah Nieto, Willester Robles, Renato Santillan, Natalie Sepe, and Ryan Tanauan are products of the yearly poetry clinic being held by LIRA in pursuit of its mission of championing Filipino poetry.

The newly elected officers of LIRA took their oaths alongside the new members. They are Phillip Kimpo Jr. (President), Francisco Monteseña (Vice President), Vivian Limpin (Secretary), Enrique Villasis (Treasurer), at Ynna Abuan (Public Relations Officer).

LIRA is now accepting sign-ups for its next poetry clinic. All those interested must submit one Word Document file containing the following: one-page bio data , ID picture, contact numbers, and five (5) poems in Filipino, to palihan@liraonline. org . An envelope containing the requirements may also be dropped off c/o Prof. Vim Nadera at the UP Institute of Creative Writing, 2/F Faculty Center, UP Diliman, 1101 Quezon City. All submissions should be in on or before April 30, 2009.

The regular clinic period is from June to August and will be held every Saturday and Sunday from 9:00 AM until 5:00 PM. Classes will continue until December.

Celebrating its 24th anniversary this 2009, LIRA is an organization of poets in Filipino. It was founded by National Artist for Literature Virgilio S. Almario (a.k.a. Rio Alma) in 1985 and counts among its members award-winning poets such as Roberto and Rebecca Añonuevo, Romulo Baquiran Jr., Michael Coroza, Jerry Gracio, Vim Nadera, and Edgar Samar.

For more information about LIRA, visit www.liraonline. org .

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for dropping by! Hope you can follow me:

FB Pages: |

Twitter/IG/Tiktok/Pinterest: @ronivalle