Monday, July 27, 2009

6th Lamiraw Accepts Fellowship Applications

The Lamiraw Regional Creative Writing Workshop (LRCWW) is now accepting applications for the 6th Regional Writers Workshop to be held on November 4-7, 2009 in Calbayog City, Samar.

Panelists invited in said workshop are Prof. Daryll Delgado and Prof. Larry Ypil from Ateneo de Manila University; Prof. Merlie Alunan and Dr. Victor Sugbo from UP Tacloban; Dr. David Genotiva from EVSU (Eastern Visayas State University), Tacloban City; and Mr. Dante Rosales from Calbayog City.

Fifteen slots are at stake for young and adult writers who are willing to improve or develop their craft in fiction, poetry, the essay and drama. As decided by the organizers, three slots are allotted for fellows coming from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao (1 slot per area), nine slots for writers residing in Samar, Leyte and Biliran, and the remaining three slots for Abaknon speakers in Capul, Northern Samar. Applicants will be admitted given that their works pass the aesthetic standard of the Selection Committee. Writers may send entries in Waray, Cebuano, or English. Entries written in Abaknon or in any regional languages spoken in Luzon, Visayas or Mindanao should have a translation in English or Filipino.

This Writers Workshop is funded by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and hosted by the Tiburcio Tancinco Memorial Institute of Science and Technology (TTMIST). A decent housing, a modest stipend, and a subsidy to partially defray costs of the fellows’ transportation will be provided to those who will qualify in the selection process. Walk-in auditors will have to pay a registration fee of P3,000.00 each which cover their meals, accommodations and workshop materials.

Consider submitting a collection of any of the following: 3 poems, 2 short stories, 2 essays, 1 one-act play, or any reasonable combination of the above in hardcopy and on a CD containing the manuscripts and your application form in Microsoft Word (Windows 2003, font 12, Arial) and two 2x2 pictures. Sending your entries together with other requirements (scanned) through email at is also accepted. Include in your submission a statement from one person of authority attesting to the originality of your works. Use the application form posted at, the NCCA website or simply google it.

Evaluators of Lamiraw RCWW manuscripts this year are Dr. Victor N. Sugbo, NCLA Regional Coordinator; Harold L. Mercurio, Lamiraw Project Coordinator; and Mr. Dante A. Rosales, member of Ibabao Arts Council of Calbayog.

Send applications on or before September 30, 2009 to Harold L. Mercurio, Project Coordinator, Lamiraw Regional Creative Writing Workshop c/o Office of the Arts, Social and Cultural Affairs of TTMIST, Calbayog City, Samar, 6710.

For inquiries, call +63.917.7982781 or email

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for dropping by! Hope you can follow me:

FB Pages: |

Twitter/IG/Tiktok/Pinterest: @ronivalle