Friday, April 3, 2009

16 Fellows to the 16th Iligan National Writers Workshop (May 25-29, 2009)

I felt exhilirated and thrilled when I heard the good news! I received an email on March 31, 2009 (Tuesday) and with the attached letter on April 1, 2009 (Wednesday) stating that I am included in this year's roster of fellows to the 16th Iligan National Writers Workshop (INWW). Actually, I'd been really waiting for this moment to come. And it did. [Thank you, Lord!] Last year, I sent in my entries but I was informed that my entries did not reach the deadline.

For the past 15 years, the INWW had been awarding only 15 writing fellowships (5 from Luzon, 5 from Visayas & 5 from Mindanao). That's why, this fellowship is a tough one to get in. But this year (2009), a 16th slot was opened - for the Manuel T. Buenafe Writing Fellowship for Muslim or Lumad applicant.

* * * * *

From the NCCA website:

The National Commission for Culture and Arts (NCCA) in cooperation with the MSU-Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT)-Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research & Extension’s Multimedia Information & Dissemination Unit and the Mindanao Creative Writers Group, Inc., announce the 16 writing fellows to the 16th Iligan National Writers Workshop (INWW) to be held on May 25-29, 2009 in Iligan City.

The writing fellows are:

FICTION (English): Timothy James M. Dimacali, UP Diliman/Pasay City;
FICTION (Filipino): Ma. Fe de Guia, UP Los Banos/Caloocan City;

POETRY (Filipino): Jason G. Tabinas, Ateneo de Manila University/ Pasig City; Arvin T. Ello, De La Salle University/ Paranaque City;

PLAY (Filipino): Marianne Mixhaela Z. Villalon, UP Diliman/Quezon City.

POETRY (Waray): Phil Harold Mercurio, UP Tacloban/Calbayog City; Jhonil C. Bajado, UP Tacloban/Maydolong, Eastern Samar;
POETRY (Cebuano): Russ Raniel A. Ligtas, UP Cebu/Cebu City; Cindy A. Velasquez, University of San Carlos/Cebu City; and
POETRY (Hiligaynon): Sam S. Prudente, UP Diliman/Iloilo City.

FICTION (English): Gabriel P. Millado, UP Mindanao/Davao City; Justine May R. Torregosa, Ateneo de Zamboanga University (ADZU)/Zamboanga City; Paul Alfonse J. Marquez, ADZU/Zamboanga City;
POETRY (English): Anderson V. Villa, Ateneo de Davao University/Davao City;
POETRY (Chabacano): Edgar Darren G. Bendanillo, Zamboanga State College of Marine Science & Technology, Zamboanga City; and,
the Manuel E. Buenafe Writing Fellow (POETRY-English): Everlyn T. Jaji, ADZU/Zamboanga City.

Panelists this year are: Ma. Rosario Cruz Lucero, Jaime An Lim, Merlie M. Alunan, Victor N. Sugbo, Antonio Enriquez, Leoncio P. Deriada, German V. Gervacio, Steven Patrick C. Fernandez, Macario Tiu, this year’s keynote speaker, Ralph Semino Galan and the INWW Director Christine Godinez-Ortega.

Evaluators of INWW manuscripts this year: Bro. Karl Gaspar, CSsR; C. Godinez-Ortega, Arlene Yandug, Ed P. Ortega, German Gervacio, Steve Fernandez and Zola Gonzalez Macarambon.

Highlights this year include the launching of the 15th INWW Proceedings, ‘About Us’ edited by Godinez-Ortega and the Special Issue of the Mindanao Forum containing 15 INWW Keynote Lectures [from Lumbera to Enriquez] also edited by Godinez Ortega. Both are published by the MSU-IIT OVCRE.

All writing fellows are asked to confirm their attendance to the INWW with the INWW secretariat (call Alice) on or before April 24, telefax: (063) 3516131; email: &

* * * * *
The Letter here below:

16th Iligan National Writers Workshop
MSU-Iligan Institute of Technology
Tibanga, Iligan City

April 2, 2009

Dear Mr. Ello,

Congratulations! You have been chosen as one of the 16 writing fellows to the 16th Iligan National Writers Workshop (INWW) to be held at the MSU-Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT), Iligan City on May 25-29, 2009.

As a writing fellow from Luzon, you will be given a transportation allowance of Px,xxx, and free board and lodging for the duration of the INWW.

You will be billeted at the Elena Tower Inn located beside the MSU-IIT along the national highway in Tibanga starting in the afternoon of Sunday, May 24. Check out time is at 12 noon on Friday, May 30.

Please confirm your attendance to the INWW on or before April 24. Send your letter to the undersigned or call Alice Bartolome Secretariat or Pat Cruz, Project Coordinator, telefax (063) 3516131.

If you are accepting the writing fellowship, we expect you to be present during the opening program on May 24. Please prepare an offering (pen, flower, handkerchief, drawing, etc.) and a prayer for writers during the opening program which has been a part of our tradition.

See you in Iligan!

Truly yours,

Director, 16th INWW

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for dropping by! Hope you can follow me:

FB Pages: |

Twitter/IG/Tiktok/Pinterest: @ronivalle