Tuesday, February 17, 2009

1st Gawad Buhay! The PHILSTAGE Awards for the Performing Arts | Feb. 18, 2009

The Philippine Legitimate Stage Artists Group, Inc. (PHILSTAGE), in cooperation with the Cultural Center of the Philippines, invites everyone to the presentation of the 2008 Gawad Buhay! The PHILSTAGE Awards for the Performing Arts tomorrow, February 18, 2009, 7:30 p.m. at the CCP Tanghalang Aurelio Tolentino.

Gawad Buhay! is the first-ever industry awards conferred upon outstanding achievements in the performing arts by PHILSTAGE member-companies. Outstanding individual and group achievements in various artistic and technical aspects of play, musical and dance productions and performances will be honored based on quarterly citations deliberated by an independent jury panel composed of critics, performing artists, cultural researchers and scholars, and theater enthusiasts.

Fernando Josef, president of PHILSTAGE and artistic director of Tanghalang Pilipino, said that the awards program is part of PHILSTAGE’s efforts to enhance awareness and appreciation of the performing arts. “It seeks to further professionalize the performing arts industry in the Philippines by engaging our audiences – critics, artists, and the viewing public – in a creative dialogue.”

The other members of the PHILSTAGE Board of Directors are PETA's Melvin Lee, vice president; Ballet PhilippinesSandy Hontiveros, secretary; Repertory Philippines Gidget Tolentino, treasurer; Actors Actors’ Leonardo Lim, Ballet Manila's Susan Macuja, Gantimpala Theater Foundation’s Tony Espejo, Organisasyon ng Pilipinong Mang-aawit’s Mitch Valdes, TRUMPET's Joel Reyes, and PHILSTAGE Executive Director Elmar Beltran Ingles as Board Members.

Directed by Dennis Marasigan, the awards ceremonies will have the country’s foremost theater personalities as awards presentors. The cast of PETA’s Batang Rizal and Ballet Philippines’ Biag Gaongen will render special production numbers from their nominated performances.

The jury panel is composed of theater and dance critics Exie Abola, Walter Ang, Gilbert Cadiz, and Basilio Esteban Villaruz; academics and cultural educators Arvin Ello, Joy Parohinog and Geofferson Ting; theater, film and television practitioner Rolando Inocencio; poet-critic Ralph Semino Galan; and regular theatergoer Ronald Elepaño III. As jury members, they have been deputized to watch all productions of PHILSTAGE member-companies throughout 2008 and held deliberations to come up with quarterly citations.

Complimentary tickets may be claimed from the Reception Desk starting at 6:45 p.m. Below is the complete list of nominees:

Outstanding Production of a Full-Length Play: Batang Rizal (PETA), Golden Child (Tanghalang Pilipino), Hamlet (Repertory Philippines), and Kudeta (Tanghalang Pilipino).

Outstanding Production of a One-Act Play: Tanghalang Pilipino-Virgin Labfest 4’s Ang Bayot, ang Meranao, at ang Habal-Habal sa Isang Nakababagot na Paghihintay sa Kanto ng Lanao del Norte, Ellas Inocentes, Ang Kalungkutan ng Mga Reyna, and Three Sisters, A Noh Play.

Outstanding Musical Production: Altar Boyz (Repertory Philippines) and Skin Deep (PETA).

Outstanding Dance Production: Ballet Philippines’ La Revolucion Filipina, Latin Heat, and New Beginnings.

Outstanding Stage Direction: Loy Arcenas (Golden Child), Chari Arrespacochaga (Altar Boyz), Nor Domingo (Skin Deep), Jose Estrella (Three Sisters), Floy Quintos (Ang Kalungkutan ng Reyna and Kudeta), Tuqxs Rutaquio (Ellas Inocentes), and Dudz Teraña (Batang Rizal).

Outstanding Original Choreography: Bam Damian (Latin Heat); Alan Hineline (New Beginnings); Agnes Locsin (La Revolucion Filipina); Alden Lugnasin (Latin Heat); Max Luna III (New Beginnings); and Jason Zamora (Altar Boyz)..

Outstanding Original Script: Christine Bellen (Batang Rizal); Rogelio Braga (Ang Bayot, ang Meranao, at ang Habal-Habal sa Isang Nakababagot na Paghihintay sa Kanto ng Lanao del Norte), Layeta Bucoy (Ellas Inocentes); and Floy Quintos (Ang Kalungkutan ng Mga Reyna).

Outstanding Ensemble Performance: Altar Boyz (Repertory Philippines); Ang Bayot, ang Meranao, at ang Habal-Habal sa Isang Nakababagot na Paghihintay sa Kanto ng Lanao del Norte (Tanghalang Pilipino/Virgin Labfest 4); Mga Gerilya sa Powell Street (Tanghalang Pilipino); Batang Rizal (PETA); Coppelia (Ballet Philippines); Ellas Inocentes (Tanghalang Pilipino/Virgin Labfest 4); Golden Child (Tanghalang Pilipino), Hamlet (Repertory Philippines) ; Kudeta (Tanghalang Pilipino); La Revolucion Filipina (Ballet Philippines); Latin Heat (Ballet Philippines); Mga Kuwento ni Lola Basyang (PETA); New Beginnings (Ballet Philippines); and Skin Deep (PETA).

Outstanding Male Lead Performance in a Play: Arthur Acuna (Golden Child); Jose Mari Avellana (Tuesdays with Morrie); Dido de la Paz and Joe Gruta (Mga Gerilya sa Powell Street); Mario O'Hara (Kudeta); Joey Paras and Arnold Reyes (Ang Bayot, ang Meranao, at ang Habal-Habal sa Isang Nakababagot na Paghihintay sa Kanto ng Lanao del Norte); and Jonathan Tadioan (Pamantasang Hirang).

Outstanding Female Lead Performance in a Play: Lovely Balili (Ellas Inocentes); Liesl Batucan (Golden Child); Shamaine Centenera Buencamino (Ang Kalungkutan ng Mga Reyna); Tina Chilip (Golden Child); Jenessa Roque (Ellas Inocentes); and Irma Adlawan Marasigan (Golden Child).

Outstanding Male Lead Performance in a Musical: Red Concepcion (Altar Boyz); Juliene Mendoza and Jett Pangan (EJ: Ang Pinagdaanang Buhay nina Evelio Javier at Edgar Jopson); and Robert Seña (Skin Deep).

Outstanding Female Lead Performance in a Musical: Isay Alvarez (May Bayot (Skin Deep); and Gail Guanlao Billones (Skin Deep);

Outstanding Male Lead Performance in a Dance Production: Biag Gaongen (La Revolucion Filipina and (Latin Heat).

Outstanding Female Lead Performance in a Dance Production: Lisa Macuja Elizalde (Le Corsaire)

Outstanding Male Featured Performance in a Play: Riki Benedicto and Bong Cabrera (Kudeta); Willy Casero (Batang Rizal); and Nor Domingo (Tosca).

Outstanding Female Featured Performance: Mailes Kanapi (Ang Mga Gerilya ng Powell Street) and Cris Villonco (Hamlet).

Outstanding Featured Performance in a Dance Production: Camille Ordinario-Joson (Latin Heat).

Outstanding Original Libretto: Vincent De Jesus (Batang Rizal and Skin Deep).

Outstanding Translation/ Adaptation: George de Jesus III (Kudeta) and Dennis Marasigan (Golden Child).

Outstanding Musical Direction: Vincent De Jesus (Batang Rizal) and Jojo Malferrari (Altar Boyz).

Outstanding Set Design: Loy Arcenas (Golden Child); Mel Bernardo (Mga Kuwento ni Lola Basyang); Gino Gonzales (New Beginnings); Mio Infante (Coppelia and La Revolucion Filipina); and Tuxqs Rutaquio (Kudeta).

Outstanding Costume Design: Ron Alfonso (Mga Kuwento ni Lola Basyang); Faust Peneyra (Hamlet); Gino Gonzales (Golden Child); Michael Angelo Albay (Tatlong Kuwento ni Lola Basyang); and Victor Ursabia (La Revolucion Filipina).

Outstanding Lighting Design: Katsch Catoy (La Revolucion Filipina); Martin Esteva (Hamlet); Dennis Marasigan (Kudeta); and Barbi Tan-Tiongco (Golden Child).

Outstanding Sound Design: Janice Dee (Kudeta); Jethro Joaquin (EJ: Ang Pinagdaanang Buhay nina Evelio Javier at Edgar Jopson); Jethro Joaquin (Hamlet); Shima Takesi (Tosca); and Gidget Tolentino (Altar Boyz); and J. Victor Villareal (Golden Child).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for dropping by! Hope you can follow me:

Youtube: http://youtube.com/Pintura14
FB Pages: http://facebook.com/vintersections | http://facebook.com/i.imagine.green

Twitter/IG/Tiktok/Pinterest: @ronivalle